Fallen Royal – Rachel Van Dyken

This book is a standalone, but best read with the Mafia Royals series.

Rachel has always had this way of bringing these characters to life for me. If you read her Eagle Elite series, you know just how much she can break your heart. In the mafia royals we’ve had our hearts squeezed and a little broken, but this book blew me away.

Izzy and Maksim both come from the mafia life but they are both more into science and math than the typical mafia life. They had been kind of quiet and in the background of the last few books, so nothing prepared me for their story.

This book gripped my heart from the very first page and didn’t let go until the end. As I was reading this book, I would literally go from full on belly laughing so hard I snorted, so sobbing so hard I didn’t know if I could continue.

While this book is 100% a standalone, most of us who have read this series from the beginning, remember the time RVD through us into the deep end with Elude. This book was just as heartbreakingly beautiful as that. This book touched my soul in places I didn’t realize I needed. It was a beautiful addition to the Mafia Royals group and while it hurt to read, I wouldn’t change it for the world. The twists and turns in this book were so unexpected that I almost had to hold my pearls a couple of times.

Once again, you’ve knocked it out of the park and I can not wait to see what’s in store for King in his book.

Leave a comment